According to s. 741.04(4)(b), F.S., applicants for a marriage license must attest to have read or otherwise accessed the information found in this handbook created by the Family Law section of The Florida Bar.
Remember that Florida's marriage license law changed on January 1st, 1999. Florida
residents must choose to either:
(1) complete a 4-hour premarital course given by a provider registered with the Clerk of Circuit Court (Florida license fee $61.00), orFor more information, please refer to Florida Statute 741.0305.
(2) have a 3-day waiting period apply to your license after you have made your application to marry with the Clerk of Circuit Court (Florida license fee $86.00).
For a current list of available pre-marital course providers registered with the Clerk of Circuit Court,
click on the link below:
A Family Law handbook is provided for your use. This handbook is made available by the Florida Association of Court Clerks, and is in PDF format.
Also available from the Florida Association of Court Clerks is a Guidance on the Marriage and Dissolution Laws.
You will need Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader to view either documents.
If you are a psychologist, clinical social worker, marriage or family therapist, mental health counselor, or an official representative of a religious institution and wish to register as a pre-marital course provider, click here for instructions on how to register as a pre-marital preparation course provider.